Life Rank Requirements

Life Patch

  1. Be active in your unit (and patrol if you are in one) for at least 6 months as a Star Scout.
  2. Demonstrate Scout spirit by living the Scout Oath (Promise) and Scout Law in your everyday life.
  3. Earn 5 more merit badges (so that you have 11 in all), including any 3 more from the required list for Eagle.
    ______________________________(required for Eagle)**
    ______________________________(required for Eagle)**
    ______________________________(required for Eagle)**
  4. While a Star Scout, take part in service project(s) totaling at least 6 hours of work. These project(s) must be approved by your Scoutmaster.
  5. While a Star Scout, serve actively in your unit for 6 months in one or more of the positions of responsibility*** listed in requirement 5 for Star Scout (or carry out a unit leader-assigned leadership project to help your unit):
  6. While a Star Scout, use the EDGE method to teach another Scout (preferably younger than you) the skills from ONE of the following seven choices, so that he is prepared to pass those requirements to his unit leader’s satisfaction.
    1. Second Class – 7a and 7c (first aid)
    2. Second Class – 1a (outdoor skills)
    3. Second Class – 3c3d3e, and 3f (cooking/camping)
    4. First Class – 8a8b8c, and 8d (first aid)
    5. First Class – 17a, and 7b (outdoor skills)
    6. First Class – 4a4b, and 4d (cooking/camping)
    7. Three requirements from one of the Eagle-required merit badges, as approved by your unit leader.
  7. Take part in a Scoutmaster conference
  8. Successfully complete your board of review.†

* Choose any of the 17 required merit badges in the 13 categories to fulfill requirement 3. See requirement 3 in the Eagle Scout rank requirements for a list of badges required for Eagle.

** Assistant patrol leader is not an approved position of responsibility for the Life rank.

† If the board of review does not approve the Scout’s advancement, the decision may be appealed in accordance with Guide to Advancement topic

* A Scout may choose any of the 15 required merit badges in the 12 categories to fulfill requirement 3. Geno Atkins Jersey